Canton Express: A Profile of Early Art of the Pearl River Delta

Pi Li, Sigg Senior Curator, Visual Art, M+

Canton Express
was a project for the landmark exhibition Z.O.U. — Zone of Urgency, curated by Hou Hanru for the 50th Venice Biennale in 2003. This project was inspired by the temporary construction commonly seen on the side of the road around the Pearl River Delta, to create an exhibition space that presents the art practices of fourteen artists and artist groups active in the region since the 1990s. This was the first time that artists from the Pearl River Delta participated in a large-scale international exhibition. The Project later travelled to Hong Kong, Beijing, and the UK. 

Following the end of the Cold War, the development of high- speed Internet, and industrialisation quickening its pace, Asia became the fastest-growing locus of globalisation. Benefiting from Deng Xiaoping’s reform policies and cheap labour, the Pearl River Delta became the factory of the world and an expansive conurbation with a rapidly advancing economy. These social and economic contexts contributed to the emergence of a new language in art as well as research efforts on global art and culture at the turn of the century. For instance, in 1997, curators Hou Hanru and Hans Ulrich Obrist initiated the exhibition series Cities on the Move, in which they adopted globalisation and urbanisation as the framework to interpret contemporary Asian art. Architect Rem Koolhaas completed a study of the Pearl River Delta, and in 2002 published Project on the City I: Great Leap Forward.

Throughout the 1990s, the majority of Chinese artists responded to abstract political ideals through realism, and thus became overly dependent on figurative style and political symbolism. Canton Express featured a new language in art that was developing far from the political centre. The Pearl River Delta, situated at the frontline of Deng’s reform, was in the midst of rapid globalisation and urbanisation. Artists there eschewed political and commercial iconography in favor of skeptical, critical attitude toward the society. They instead employed multi- media practices to address the impact of globalisation, with its mixture of city landscapes, daily life, and the mental and emotional complexities of its residents. U-thèque utilised film to focus on life in urban villages; and Liu Heng’s video installation closely followed a small town as it was transformed by urbanisation. Aside from these clear views of the urban landscape, Canton Express also probed the inner world of the inhabitants. Lin Yilin’s performance work 100 Pieces and 1000 Pieces and Jiang Zhi’s installation Sucker both pointed towards the material greed of consumer society. Zheng Guogu’s Sample Room showed the link between Yangjiang as a manufacturing hub and the globalised market. Chen Shaoxiong’s Figure Anti-Terrorism combined international political events with lived experience, and Xu Tan, Jin Jiangbo, and Vitamin Creative Space’s original programmes used live Internet broadcast to connect local art events together with international exhibitions. This was the first time Chinese artists responded to the dynamic relationship between global and local; they were not satisfied with the label ‘Chinese artist’, but instead considered themselves as members of a global network.

Canton Express not only exhibited ‘China’ and its underlying cultural and artistic context under the influence of globalisation, but also prefigured a clear shift in Chinese art away from focus on Chinese identity towards actual interaction with reality. More importantly, Canton Express represented a new kind of exhibition model, where the separation and interconnectedness between each different work was decided in discussion and consultation with the artists. This curatorial approach differed from that of a traditional exhibition as it did not manifest a consensus among different artworks. Instead it encouraged viewers to reflect on the ambiguities within the discussions and served as an improvised strategy for confronting the global network of exhibitions.

Yet within the social network of the Pearl River Delta, artists faced a distressing situation.  They lacked access to a culture and could not rely on the art market to survive. It compelled them to develop their own organisations: Libreria Borges as a bookstore and exhibition space, Vitamin Creative Space, a commercial gallery and non-profit art space; and U-thèque, a filmmaking organisation that organised public screenings.  Even Canton Express itself was self-organised and experienced many twists and turns. The project was not officially supported.  Rather, it was realised through increments of support by Chinese art lovers, which included early on Alisan Fine Arts and Hanart TZ Gallery in Hong Kong.  With further assistance from the Guy & Myriam Ullens Foundation and Dr Uli Sigg, it opened on schedule at the 50th Venice Biennale. After the exhibition closed, art collector Guan Yi acquired works from the project and shipped them back to China in order to keep the works together.  In 2014, he donated the works to M+. 

Through research and conservation efforts undertaken by M+, these safeguarded works are on display for the first time after a decade, re-presenting a pivotal moment in the history of contemporary Chinese art and its link with the Pearl River Delta and Hong Kong. Although in the past, there was a lack of suitable temporary exhibition spaces and material resources in mainland China, the system of contemporary art has entirely changed. Canton Express embraced forms and concepts in art that were new at the time such as site-specific installation and live broadcast and showed distinct characteristics of ‘anti-art’, which no longer followed the standard pursuit of making art objects that are inherently definitive but emphasized the flexibility and variability of art at different exhibitions. The reinstallation of Canton Express was riddled with challenges. How can the tactile and textural qualities of art practices that rejected canonisation and embraced fluidity and site-specificity be exhibited according to the museum standards of collection, conservation, research, and display? Our responsibility toward the contemporary relies on preserving recent history for tomorrow. People often believe that the contemporary is too recent to require careful maintenance, but the process of reinstalling Canton Express has demonstrated the immediate need for documentation and conservation of a contemporary artwork because the contemporary becomes the past in the blink of an eye. It is our hope that this exhibition not only restages an important moment in the development of contemporary art, but also serves as a means by which to reflect and act upon these concerns.

廣東快車:早期珠江三角洲藝術的一個剖面

M+ 希克資深策展人 視覺藝術 皮力 


「廣東快車」項目是2003年第50屆威尼斯雙年展主題展中,由策展人侯瀚如策劃的展覽「緊急地帶」中的一部分。該項目把珠江三角洲地區常見的街邊臨時建築化為展覽空間,呈現1990年代以來活躍於該地區的14位藝術家和藝術機構的藝術實踐。這是珠三角藝術家首次參展大型國際展覽項目之後,亦到了香港、北京、英國等地巡展。

隨着冷戰結束、網絡高速發展、工業化腳步加快,亞洲成為全球化進程最快的地區。珠三角受益於改革開放政策、廉價勞動力,不僅成為世界工廠,以及經濟騰飛的聯合都市,更造就了新的藝術語言,以至於世紀之交成為全球文化藝術研究的焦點:如1997年起,策展人侯瀚如、小漢斯策劃了「移動中的城市」系列展覽,試圖以全球化和都市化的框架解讀亞洲當代藝術;2002年,建築師庫哈斯在珠三角考察並出版《大躍進》一書。

1990年代的中國藝術家,大多以現實主義的方式回應抽象的政治訴求,從而過分依賴具象化和政治符號化的風格。「廣東快車」的出現則讓人看到一種新的藝術語言。遠離政治中心、地處改革開放前沿的珠三角正經歷急速的全球化和都市化,這裏的藝術家甚少以政治、商業符號表達對社會的懷疑與批判,而是以多元媒介展現全球化影響下的都市景觀與日常生活,以及都市人複雜的心理與情感。緣影會的鏡頭對準「城中村」生活,劉珩的錄像裝置關注被都市化改變的小鎮。除了可見的都市景觀,展覽亦探索了都市人的內心世界。林一林的行為作品 《100塊和1000塊》和蔣志的裝置《吸管人》,均直指消費社會的物慾橫流。鄭國谷的《樣品房》揭示了作為製造業樞紐的陽江與全球市場的連結,陳劭雄的《花樣反恐》將國際政治事件和生活經驗結合, 而徐坦、金江波和維他命空間的原始方案,則利用網絡直播令深圳本地的藝術活動與威尼斯的國際展覽互融。這正是中國藝術家首次對全球與本土的動態關係作出回應,他們不滿足於成為「中國藝術家」,而將自己視為全球網絡的一員。可見 ,「廣東快車」展現了「中國」和全球化概念下多元的文化藝術脈絡,並預示中國藝術開始從強調「中國身份」轉向介入生存現實。更重要的是,「廣東快車」代表了一種新的展覽形式。每次展覽都是藝術家討論協商的結果,作品之間相互隔絕又彼此滲透,這種策展手法不再像傳統展覽般呈現共識,而是着重思考討論中的不確定性。這亦是應對全球化展覽網絡的即興策略。

然而,在珠三角的社會網絡中,藝術家缺乏「文化資源」與賴以生存的「藝術市場」,現實的境遇十分窘迫。他們被迫自我組織起來:博爾赫斯書店既是書店亦組織展覽,維他命藝術空間既是商業畫廊又是非牟利空間,緣影會因無法公開組織放映而走向電影製作。連「廣東快車」本身亦是一次一波三折的自我組織。這個項目並無官方支持,而是由很多中國藝術愛好者「接力」完成:早期獲得香港的藝倡畫廊、漢雅軒等的支援,後來在尤倫斯基金會和烏利。希克博士的幫助下準時於威尼斯雙年展開幕。2003年展覽結束後,為保留作品的完整性,收藏家管藝收藏了這批作品並運送回國,後於2014年將它們捐贈予M+。

經過M+修復整理,這批作品封存十餘年後再次展出,重現當代中國藝術的轉折時刻,以及包括香港在內的珠三角與當代中國藝術史的關聯。當年中國大陸匱乏的物質條件和臨時的展覽空間,與現今制度化的當代藝術環境截然不同。「廣東快車」包羅了當時新的藝術概念和 形式,如場域特定裝置和現場直播,具有「反藝術」的特徵──不再追求傳統藝術嚮往的經典性,而強調作品在不同展覽現場的靈活多變。當下重現「廣東快車」成為極富挑戰性的工作──如何按照博物館收藏、 保存、研究和展示的規範,展現當年拒絕「經典化」的藝術實踐之質感與肌理,以及展覽的流動性與現場感?關注當代是為明天展現歷史。人們常以為「當代」如此之近,無需精心維護。但重構「廣東快車」令人感到記錄和保育當代藝術作品刻不容緩,「當代」正轉瞬即逝。我們希望是次展覽不僅重現當代藝術發展的一個瞬間,更延伸對上述問題的思考與行動。