‘Why do we need to question?’ Artist Wong Tin Yan believes that questioning is an important tool for learning and Yes but Why? is his effort to create an environment that motivates students to stay curious and think unconventionally.

M+ Rover tours to primary schools across Hong Kong, offering students an alternative space on campus to acquire knowledge and express their thoughts. In this latest edition, Wong invites students, teachers, and visitors to write down questions and post them on the walls of the exhibition space. In documenting these intuitive ideas and responses, the artist transforms M+ Rover into a site of inquiry.

To broaden students’ creative horizons, Wong invites collaborators from various fields, including soundpocketOrient Occident Atelier, and Deep Food to join in this adventure of questioning. Drawing inspiration from the work of these collaborators and students, Wong poses a series of questions that help students liberate themselves from habitual ways of thinking. These interactions engage artists, collaborators, teachers, and students in creative dialogue that provokes fresh thinking and inquiry. In this ongoing process of learning, they come to view the world through a different lens, continuing on their journey of questioning with renewed perspectives.


soundpocket
Established in 2008, soundpocket works to support, promote, educate, gather and archive in the field of sound, art and the culture of listening. It facilitates a cross-disciplinary approach to programming and education in partnership with arts practitioners, corporations and diverse social groups. The team’s soundscape initiative, The Library by soundpocket, was devised as an on-going collection of sound recordings to enable like-minded individuals to share and explore the potential for creative collaborations.

Orient Occident Atelier
Orient Occident Atelier (OOA) is an architectural studio based in Hong Kong, which actively explores and experiments with different architectural designs. Incorporating modern interpretations of Eastern and Western aesthetics into its concepts, OOA seeks to integrate the natural with the functional in its works. The studio looks into the connection between materials, structures, and their surrounding spaces, opening up new possibilities for designs. In 2018, OOA received the Architizer A+ Award for its design of The Adventurous Global School, a charitable initiative in Battambang, Cambodia. In the following year, the design was recognised by Build magazine’s 2019 Design and Build Awards as the ‘Most Outstanding in Contemporary Architecture’ and won the Good Design Award from the Japan Institute of Design Promotion.

Deep Food
Deep Food was founded in 2018 by Hong Kong designers Cindy Chan and Heinrik Ng, who seek to create unconventional eating experiences to stimulate thoughts and discussions on the connections between food and the world. They continue to explore and innovate, and their designs reflect different living cultures and philosophical views. Their recent projects include ‘The School of Baos’, in which Chan and Ng set up a food stall at the School of Everyday Life, inviting visitors to design their dishes with Chinese steamed buns of different shapes, colours, and flavours. The activities were designed to encourage people to reflect on the idea of ‘good food’.

「點解唔可以問點解?」藝術家王天仁相信,提問是學習的重要工具。他的作品《拾萬個為甚麼?》將到訪香港不同小學,為學生營造一個鼓勵他們尋根究底的環境。

在「M+ 敢探號」這個與別不同的學習空間,王天仁邀請學生、教師及觀眾寫下他們對生活的疑問,並張貼在車身外牆。他希望藉着記錄大家出於直覺的想法和回應,把「M+ 敢探號」化為求知探索的場地。

為了開拓學生對創作的想像,王天仁特意邀請不同界別的文化工作者參與這趟旅程,包括聲音掏腰包東西建築深食。王天仁從這些合作者和學生身上汲取靈感,提出一連串問題,在「M+ 敢探號」這個難得的平台,促成藝術家、合作者、教師和學生交流對話,互相啟示探索知識的新方向。在此持續學習的過程中,大家得以跳出慣常思維的角度,用不一樣的眼光看待世界,繼續尋究探索之旅。


聲音掏腰包
聲音掏腰包成立於2008年,致力於聲音藝術與文化的宣傳、教育、收集和存檔工作;透過與不同文化背景的藝術工作者、企業和社會團體的夥伴關係,推行跨媒體的創作和活動。另成立聲音圖書館,旨在與所有對聲音有同樣興趣的人共享聲音資源,實現更多集體創作的機會。

東西建築 
扎根香港的東西建築,是致力探索和實驗各種建築設計的研究工作室。其設計方案以現代手法詮釋東西方美學,亦注重自然與功能的融合,並着眼於材料、建築物與周遭環境的聯繫,從中尋找更多新的設計意念。2018年,工作室於柬埔寨馬德望開展的慈善建築項目The Adventurous Global School獲頒美國Architizer A+ Awards,翌年再獲英國《BUILD》雜誌頒發「2019 Design & Build Awards」之中「當代建築最傑出」稱號,以及日本設計振興會的Good Design Award。

深食
由兩位香港設計師陳可兒及伍澤均於2018年創立,旨在透過設計有別於尋常的飲用餐體驗,激發人思考和討論食物背後種種與世界的聯繫,並藉着研究及發展創新的食物設計方案,探索體現於不同飲食領域的生活文化及哲學。近期項目在生活書院的市集中擺設檔攤「包子大學」,邀請人揀選不同形狀、顏色和味道的中式包點組成一道菜式,藉此讓參加者思索「良食」的意義,並表達對此的想法。