Art Basel Hong Kong is full of visual resources, and it could prompt you to look at the ever-changing world around you in new ways. Human books in this library—past M+ collaborators—accompany you for a walk that is inspired from their creative practices, to experience much more than what is on display at the fair.

Creatives use their imaginative and critical perspectives to guide and connect with participants in the walk. We hope this intimate experience inspires you, in the context of the fair, to develop new ways of seeing your future museum visits.

Books in the library include:

Tang Kwok Hin, Artist
William Lane, Musician and Curator
Ching Siu Wai, Magazine Publisher
Sara Wong, Artist and Landscape Designer

Date and Time:
1–6pm on 29 March, 1-4pm on 30 March, and 12–5pm on 31 March

Sessions are held every hour on the hour, and last 45 minutes.

Gathering point:
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
Art Basel Hong Kong 2019 M+ Booth: P5 (L1 Concourse, outside Hall 1D)

Registration has closed. If you are interested, check with our staff at the booth 5 minutes before the programme starts.


About the Creatives

Tang Kwok Hin
A mixed-media artist, independent curator, and writer, Tang Kwok Hin often appropriates and reconstructs daily and personal contexts as a way to express concerns about people and their surroundings. In this space defined by the presence of art, Tang invites participants to connect with their past, present, and future, drawing from personal history and memory.

William Lane
As Founder, Artistic Director, and Violist of the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble, William Lane performs as a soloist and an orchestral and chamber musician in Australia, Asia, Europe, and North America. Lane’s tour, entitled Music Walk 4 X 5, transforms visual and experiential aspects of the fair into sound, as he invites participants to articulate their encounters onto the floor plan of the space, turning it into a ‘graphic score’.

Ching Siu Wai
Co-publisher of Magazine P and former Creative Director and Publisher of City Magazine, Ching Siu Wai has over thirty years of experience in the magazine and media industry, managing various processes in magazine production, including art direction, design, and editorial planning. Using photography as a lens, Ching invites participants to revisit and capture moments that touched them, and to encounter their past selves by observing the people, events, and things at the fair.

Sara Wong
A co-founder and board member of Para Site, Sara Wong is also a practising landscape designer and currently a Senior Lecturer at the Hong Kong Design Institute. Wong takes participants on a journey of wandering, disorientation, and discovery, extending an invitation to look for clues along the seemingly random route while searching for meanings and stories.

巴塞爾藝術展香港展會場內場外均充滿各式各樣的視覺元素,刺激大家以嶄新眼光來觀看周遭世界。除了M+團隊成員,我們的真人圖書館找來一眾曾與M+合作的創作人,由他們擅長的創意實踐方式出發,與參加者遊走於展會,讓大家觀察展品之餘能夠經驗更多。

同行參觀期間,這些創意人會運用豐富的想像力和批判的視野,引導參加者觀察細看,並相互交流。藉此體驗,讓大家在參觀藝術展之時,尋找理解和創造文化的別樣方式,更為日後參觀M+博物館帶來不一樣的觀賞經驗。

伴您同行的「真人圖書」:

鄧國騫,藝術家
凌藝廉,音樂家及策展人
程少偉,雜誌出版人
黃志恆,藝術家及園境設計師

日期及時間:
3月29日  下午1時至6時
3月30日  下午1時至4時
3月31日  下午12時至5時

逢正點開始,每節45分鐘

集合地點:
香港會議展覽中心
2019年巴塞爾藝術展香港展會 M+展區:P5(L1 前廳,展覽廳1D外)

活動現已截止報名。有興趣參加人士,請於活動開始前5分鐘到現場查詢。


有關創作人


鄧國騫
混合媒介藝術家、兼從事獨立策展及寫作。鄧國騫將日常生活和私人經驗重構,轉化成各種題材,從中表達對人和環境的關懷。這個獨特的藝術展示場景中,鄧國騫邀請參加者連接過去、當下、未來,並聯繫自己的記憶及個人歷史。

凌藝廉
香港創樂團創辦人、藝術總監及中提琴手。凌藝廉經常穿梭於澳洲、亞洲、歐洲及北美各地作獨奏、樂團及室樂演出。凌藝廉以《Music Walk 4 x 5》為題,把場地的平面圖變成「圖像樂譜」,並邀請參加者於「樂譜」上加入各自的觀賞經驗,共同將展場中的視覺及體驗式元素轉化為聲音。

程少偉
《MAGAZINE P》聯合出版人,前《號外》雜誌創作總監及出版人。程少偉於雜誌及傳媒業擁有超過30年經驗,主理美術指導、設計、編務策劃等一系列的雜誌製作流程。程少偉將邀請參加者由攝影出發,透過觀察展會中的人、事、物,捕捉一些曾經觸動你的時刻,並邂逅過去的自己。

黃志恆
Para Site 藝術空間創辦成員及董事會成員,亦為執業園境設計師及香港知專設計學院高級講師。黃志恆將帶領參加者經歷一趟從遊蕩、迷失到發現的旅程,並邀請他們在看似隨機的路線中尋找線索,推敲背後的故事或意義。