Troupe:
Chongqing Chuanju Theatre
Chongqing Chuanju Theatre was founded in 1951 as the Experimental Chuanju Theatre of Chongqing. Over its 60 years of history, the company has explored the art of Sichuan opera (Chuanju), focusing on innovations in singing styles and research into Sichuan operatic theories. The company comprises veteran masters and renowned leading actors, including seasoned artists such as Zhang Decheng, Zhou Mulian and Wu Xiaolei, and leading emerging and mid-career performers, such as virtuoso Shen Tiemei. The company’s repertoire consists of hundreds of titles, including The Story of the Wooden Hairpin, The Reincarnation of a Beauty, The Tale Under the Willow Shade and Li Yaxian. The company has performed throughout China, as well as in the US, the UK, France, Korea and Japan. Shen Tiemei, the current director, is also vice-chairperson of the Chinese Dramatists’ Association, and a three-time winner of the Plum Blossom Award for Chinese Theatre.

Cast:
Shen Tiemei | Sun Yongbo | Xu Chao | Li Wanguo | Zhou Xingyu | Tang Wei

Shen Tiemei

Leading Chuanju performing artist Shen Tiemei is current president of the Chongqing Chuanju Theatre and vice-chairperson of the Chinese Theatre Association. A three-time winner of the prestigious Chinese Theatre Association Plum Blossom Grand Award, she was also recognised with the Wenhua Performance Award presented by the Ministry of Culture. Shen’s mellow voice and beautiful articulation have led to her being named a  “Diva of Sichuan Opera”. During her career, Shen has performed in Italy, the Netherlands, France, Germany, Australia, Singapore, Korea and the US as part of cultural exchange tours to promote Chuanju internationally. Her performance in The Phoenix Pavilion was praised by international media, including The New York Times and the Financial Times. She has also been commended by the Chinese Ministry of Culture for “bridging the gap between traditional and global cultures”.

Sun Yongbo

Sun Yongbo is a National Class One actor and winner of the Plum Blossom Award. He apprenticed under the Sichuan opera actor Xiao Ting and is skilled in portraying a wide range of characters, including scholarly and martial xiaosheng (young male) roles. He is known for his lead roles in Li Yaxian, The Jade Hairpin, The Challenge, Packing in a Box for the Palace Examination, Good Person of Sichuan, The Fox Spirit’s Enmity, Pearl Shirt, The Chalk Circle, Mulian Saves His Mother and other plays. He was honoured with a first place award for performance in the 2016 Chinese Art Festival, a first place award for the ninth Flying to Heaven Award for television series, five “One Project” Awards from Sichuan Province, and a first place national award for excerpt plays from regional operas. He has travelled widely with the Chongqing Chuanju Theatre, including performances in Germany, Spain, Taiwan and Hong Kong.

Xu Chao

Xu Chao is a National Class Two actor trained in scholarly and martial xiaosheng (young male) roles. He is known for his work in the excerpt plays Zhou Ren Dallies on the Road, Xiao Fang Commits Murder on a Boat, Finding a Seal in a Water Prison, Hua Yun Shoots a Condor, Forcing the Nephew to Enter the Imperial Examination and Picking the Red Plum. He is also known for his performance in the full-length plays Xiao Fang the White-faced Tiger, The Yumen Pass, The Tale Under the Willow Shade and Mingfeng. In 2000, he graduated from the Sichuan Provincial School of Sichuan Opera and joined the Chongqing Chuanju Theatre. He apprenticed under the actor Zhao Shuqin and studied under Wei Yixin. In 2008, he participated in the Beijing Olympics performance series and was awarded an honours certificate by the Ministry of Culture. In 2009, he was awarded first place in the Chongqing City Stars of Stage Arts competition for his performance of Finding a Seal in a Water Prison. In 2011, he won an award for outstanding opera performance for Mingfeng at the Chinese Drama Festival. In 2012, he was given an award for outstanding literary works at the Chinese Art Festival. He has represented the troupe in performances in the US, France, Australia and other countries.

Li Wanguo

Li Wanguo is a National Class Three actor and is trained in wusheng (martial male) roles. He is known for his performances in the traditional excerpt plays Jiangdong Bridge, Capturing Gao Shijie on the Water, Fleeing by Night, Sending off Jingniang, Yue Yang Drinks the Soup, Loyal Tang Huai, Borrowing Zhao Yun’s Troops and others. He is also known for his performance in full-length plays, such as The Yumen Pass and Wu Song. In 2000, he graduated from Sichuan Provincial School of Art and entered the Chongqing Chuanju Theatre. In 2009, he won the Star Award in the Stars of Stage Arts competition. He has represented the troupe on multiple occasions in other countries, such as Germany, Russia, the UK, France and Korea.

Zhou Xingyu

Zhou Xingyu is skilled in both qingyi (virtuous female) and daomadan (martial female) roles. She is an apprentice to the famous Sichuan opera actress Shen Tiemei and an outstanding young talent in the Chongqing Chuanju Theatre. She was awarded the New Star award in the Chongqing City Stars of Stage Arts competition. In 2008, she attended the Beijing Film Academy and the Spring Festival Gala on CCTV. In 2010, she performed at the World Expo in Shanghai. In 2011, she represented the south-west region in the television programme Happy Dictionary on CCTV. She has performed in countries such as Germany, the US and the UK. In the new arrangement of the play The Legend of the White Snake, she performs the lead role of Bai Suzhen. Her representative works include Jinshan Temple, Sanniang Teaches Her Son, Killing the Dog to Alert the Wife, Mount Baimang, Slipping Out the Window and Wu Song.

Tang Wei

Tang Wei is an acclaimed performer with the Chongqing Chuanju Theatre, trained in wusheng (martial male) roles. He is known for his performances in Death at Baqiu, Attacking Zidu, Wu Song Fighting in the Tavern, Jinshan Temple, The Fox Spirit’s Enmity and other plays. From 2004 to 2008, he studied in the Liu Ping Art Troupe at the Sichuan Provincial Sichuan Opera School. In 2008, he joined the Chongqing Chuanju Theatre. He has accompanied the troupe on many occasions to countries in Europe, America and Asia. In 2010, he performed at the Chongqing Performance Week at the World Expo in Shanghai. In 2011, he accompanied the Chongqing Cultural Bureau to Japan to join the New Year’s ceremony. In 2012, he performed at a cultural exchange event in Germany, and at the Festival Internacional Cervantino in Mexico. In 2015, he performed in Pusan, Korea. In 2016, he went on tour in the UK. In 2018, he participated in CCTV’s Dragon Boat Festival Xiqu Party.

劇團:
重慶市川劇院

重慶市川劇院成立於1951年,其前身為重慶市實驗川劇院,是當前重慶市保留的僅有的兩個事業編制專業文藝院團之一。
劇院歷史悠久,郭沫若曾為重慶市川劇院題寫院名。成立60多年來,不斷致力於川劇表演藝術的探索、聲腔的創新以及川劇理論的研討,藝術積澱深厚廣博,薈萃前輩大師名家名角,擁有張德成、周慕蓮、吳曉雷、周裕祥、袁玉堃等一大批老一輩藝術家和當代中國川劇領軍人物沈鐵梅等中青年川劇表演藝術家;打造了《荊釵記》、《紅梅記》、《柳蔭記》、《琵琶記》、《金子》、《李亞仙》等數以百計的優秀劇碼。戲團演出足跡遍及全國及美、英、法、韓日等世界多個國家和地區。現任院長沈鐵梅為中國劇協副主席,中國戲劇「三度梅」得主。

主演:
沈鐵梅 | 孫勇波 | 徐超 | 李萬果 | 周星雨 | 唐緯

沈鐵梅

沈鐵梅,當代中國川劇領軍人物,現任中國劇協副主席、重慶市文聯主席、重慶市川劇院院長。 她被業界譽為「川劇皇后」,是公認的「川劇聲腔第一人」。 她三度獲得中國戲劇最高獎—梅花獎,並多次榮獲文華表演獎、文華導演獎等專業大獎,代表劇碼有:《金子》 、《李亞仙》、《鳳儀亭》、《思凡》等。
她是把川劇聲腔帶入西方音樂殿堂的第一人,多次參加紐約林肯中心藝術節、荷蘭藝術節、北美點亮多倫多藝術節等國際重要藝術節演出,演出足跡遍佈世界30多個國家和地區,她精湛的表演得到了英國《金融時報》、美國《紐約時報》 等世界知名媒體的持續關注和高度讚譽,國家文旅部肯定她的演出是「找到了傳統文化聯通世界文化的橋樑」,並作為範例向全國推廣。

孫勇波

國家一級演員,第二十屆中國戲劇梅花獎獲得者,師承川劇表演演出者曉艇,工文武小生。他戲路寬廣,被譽為文武雙全的川劇小生演員。主演的劇碼有《李亞仙》、《玉簪記》、《打擂》、《裝盒盤宮》、《四川好人》、《狐仙恨》、《珍珠衫》、《灰闌記》、《目連之母》等,曾榮獲第九屆中國藝術節表演獎、第九屆電視劇飛天獎電視連續劇一等獎、四川省五個一工程獎、全國地方戲曲精品折子戲評比展演一等獎。多次隨團出訪德國、法國、西班牙、台灣、香港等地。

徐超

國家二級演員,工文武小生。主演的折子戲有《周仁耍路》、《肖方殺船》、《水牢摸印》、《花雲射雕》、《逼侄赴科》、《摘紅梅》等。主演的劇碼有《白面虎肖方》、《禹門關》、《柳蔭記》、《鳴鳳》。2000年畢業於四川省川劇學校,同年加入重慶市川劇院,師承趙書勤先生,參師魏益新老師。2008年參加北京奧運會系列演出,獲文化部榮譽證書。2009年以《水牢摸印》獲重慶市舞台藝術之星一等獎。2011年以《鳴鳳》參加第十二屆中國戲劇節,獲優秀劇碼獎。2012年《鳴鳳》獲第十屆中國藝術節頒發文華優秀劇碼獎。2012年舉辦個人專場演出。多次代表劇院出訪美國、法國、澳洲等國家。

李萬果

國家三級演員,工武生。擅演傳統折子有《江東橋》、《水擒高世傑》、《林冲夜奔》、《送京娘》、《樂羊烹羹》、《湯懷盡忠》、《借趙雲》等。主演的劇碼有《禹門關》、《武松》。2000年畢業於四川省藝術學校,2000年進入重慶市川劇院工作至今。獲得2009年舞台藝術之星星星獎。多次代表劇院赴德國、俄羅斯、英國、法國、韓國等地演出。

周星雨

主攻青衣旦、刀馬旦,是文武雙修青年演員。著名川劇表演藝術家沈鐵梅親傳弟子,重慶川劇院優秀新生代青年演員,重慶市舞台藝術之星新星獎獲得者。2008年,赴北京電影學院進修,並參加中央電視台戲曲春節聯歡晚會;2010年在上海世博中國館演出;2011年作為西南賽區代表參加中央電視台節目《開心辭典》。曾多次赴德國、美國、英國等國家訪問演出。在新版大幕戲《白蛇傳》中領銜主演白素貞,代表劇碼有《金山寺》、《三娘教子》、《殺狗警妻》、《白邙山》、《刁窗》、《武松》等。

唐緯

重慶市川劇院優秀青年演員,工武生。演出劇碼包括《魂斷巴丘》、《伐子都》、《武松打店》、《金山寺》、《狐仙恨》等。2004至08年就讀於四川省川劇學校劉萍藝術班。2008年加入重慶市川劇院。曾多次隨團出訪歐洲,美洲,亞洲多個國家。2010年參加上海世博會重慶演出周演出。2011年隨重慶市文化局前往日本參加新年演出祭。2012年前往德國參加文化交流演出活動。2013年參加墨西哥賽凡提斯藝術節演出。2015年前往韓國釜山交流演出。2016年前往英國巡演。2018年參加中央電視台端午戲曲晚會。