This May, the Shanghai Kunqu Opera Troupe joins us to present the complete series of Four Dreams in the Camellia Hall – a Kunqu production rarely staged in its entirety. Written by the influential Ming dynasty playwright Tang Xianzu, widely regarded as the Shakespeare of the East, the collection includes four classic plays: A Pair of Purple Hairpins, The Peony Pavilion, A Dream Under the Southern Bough and The Tale of Handan. Having dedicated themselves to the textual compilation, editing and staging of the series, the Shanghai Kunqu Opera Troupe presented the first-ever staging of the full collection in Guangzhou in 2016. We are delighted to share this rare experience and host the debut performance in Hong Kong. 

The Shanghai Kunqu Opera Troupe is one of China’s top state-supported performance companies. Founded in 1978, the troupe of award-winning veteran and emerging performers is committed to the conservation and promotion of the art of Kunqu, an ancient xiqu genre widely regarded as the mother of all regional forms.

Performed by:

Date Time Performance
2 May 2019 (Thursday)  7:30pm The Tale of Handan
3 May 2019 (Friday)  7:30pm A Pair of Purple Hairpins
4 May 2019 (Saturday)  7:30pm A Dream Under the Southern Bough
5 May 2019 (Sunday)  7:30pm The Peony Pavillion

Venue:
Grand Theatre, Xiqu Centre

Language:
Regional languages with Chinese and English surtitles

Tickets:
$500, $420, $320, $200

Concession details

Ticketing Enquiries:
(852) 2200 0022, ticketinfo@wkcda.hk

Discount offers:

  • Group bookings: 10% discount for purchases of 6 to 9 same price standard tickets for one performance in one transaction, 15% discount for 10 or more tickets.
  • All four performances: 20% discount for purchases of same price standard tickets for all four performances made in one transaction at the Xiqu Centre Ticket Office or by calling our ticketing hotline (852) 2200 0022 only. Subject to availability.

*Above discount offers are not valid in conjunction with other promotion offers.

See more

See also

《紫釵記》、《牡丹亭》、《南柯記》、《邯鄲記》合稱《臨川四夢》,為明代劇作家湯顯祖四部經典傳奇作品。四部劇作由面世至今,命運迥然不同:《牡丹亭》保留了較多經典折子戲,近代崑曲舞台更流傳數個首尾俱足、情節完備的串本戲。其餘三夢傳承下來的折子戲則較少。上海崑劇團歷年來致力於四夢的文本整編及舞台排演,更於 2016 年進行《臨川四夢》巡演,於舞台首度串聯呈現《邯鄲夢》《紫釵記》《南柯夢記》《牡丹亭》四夢,在崑劇藝術史上別具傳承意義,觀眾能一連四晚欣賞崑曲的細膩典雅,並藉以窺探湯顯祖的文學創作思想及其時代背景。

上海崑劇團成立於 1978 年,是國家重點保護和扶持的專業藝術表演團體,以保護和傳承崑劇藝術為己任。是次演出雲集上海崑劇團精英,包括眾多國家一級、二級演員及優秀年輕演員。他們承傳了上崑前輩名家的技藝,功底紥實,表演規範細 膩,盡展「百戲之母」── 崑曲之風采。

演出團體:

日期 時間 演出
2019年5月2日 (星期四)  晚上7時30分 《邯鄲夢》
2019年5月3日 (星期五)  晚上7時30分 《紫釵記》
2019年5月4日 (星期六)  晚上7時30分 《南柯夢記》
2019年5月5日 (星期日) 晚上7時30分 《牡丹亭》

地點︰
戲曲中心大劇院

語言: 
劇種地方語言,輔有中英文字幕

票價︰
$500、$420、$320、$200

優惠詳情

票務查詢︰
(852) 2200 0022,ticketinfo@wkcda.hk

門票優惠詳情:

  • 團體優惠:於同一交易內購買同一場次及相同票價之正價門票,6-9 張九折、10 張或以上八五折。
  • 套票優惠: 親臨戲曲中心票務處或致電票務熱線(852)2200 0022,於同一交易內購買《臨川四夢》四晚演出相同票價之正價門票,可享八折優惠。名額有限,售完即止。

*上述優惠不得同時使用或與其他優惠同時使用。

查看更多

上海崑劇團《臨川四夢》相關活動