10 February (Sunday) Programme Rundown

14:45-15:15

Taiwan Indigenous Dance Workshop 1

17:00-17:45

Taiwan Indigenous Dance Workshop 2 and Performance by TAI Body Theatre

Programme Description
In February, we welcome TAI Body Theatre from Hualian, who join us to present a workshop based on indigenous dance and music from Taiwan. 

After two years of field studies recording indigenous dance and exploring the connections between the feet and the land, Watan Tusi, founder and director of TAI Body Theatre devised a new form of expressive “foot language”. To find out more about the company’s unique “foot scripts”, join Watan and the TAI Body Theatre in our free workshops as they guide you through the steps and explain the connections with traditional indigenous dance. Members of local dance company Y-Space will also be on site to help you learn.

At the end of the afternoon, TAI Body Theatre also present Tjakudayi – How to Say I Love You, a work adapted from an indigenous novel and incorporating Paiwan tribal folk songs.

Free admission. No registration required.

About TAI Body Theatre
Based in Hualian, Taiwan, TAI Body Theatre was founded in 2012 by the indigenous Truku artist Watan Tusi, and includes young members from the Truku, Paiwan and Puyuma tribes in eastern Taiwan. The company’s name, Tai, is taken from the Truku word meaning “look” or “see” and reflects Watan’s desire to look for new possibilities for indigenous dance and music. With productions touching on issues such as indigenous literature and the relationship between the body, music and the environment, the company has toured regionally and internationally, performing at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe in the UK and the Jogja International Performance Art Festival in Indonesia. The work Dancing Around the World was nominated at the 2016 Taishin Arts Awards.

About Y-Space 
Hong Kong dance company Y-Space was founded in 1995 by dance artists Victor Ma Choi-wo and Mandy Yim Ming-yin. Dedicated to creating performance works that are characteristic of local culture and explore new dance languages and directions, Y-Space also work to promote conversations and collaborations between international and local dance artists, and to increase the international impact of Hong Kong dance. Y-Space has cultivated spaces for creativity in local theatre, the community and schools, and has toured to more than 20 cities in 13 countries by international invitation.

Collaborating Partners:

Tai Body Theatre  
Y-Space Hong Kong Arts Development Council

2月10日(星期日)节目表

14:45-15:15

台湾原住民舞蹈工作坊(一)

17:00-17:45

台湾原住民舞蹈工作坊(二) 及TAI身体剧场演出

节目简介
来自台湾花莲的TAI身体剧场,将会为二月的WE DANCE带来深受台湾原住民音乐和舞蹈启发的工作坊。

TAI身体剧场的艺术总监瓦旦‧督喜,多年来观察和参与部落日常生活和劳动,发掘当中的文化厚度,发展出一套独特的「脚谱」身体语言。工作坊中,瓦旦‧督喜、本地舞蹈团体多空间将与参加者一起体验这套脚语言,感受传统音乐、舞蹈和土地的连结。

TAI身体剧场亦会演出《Tjakudayi‧我爱你怎么说》。作品源自一位排湾族的团员所写的一篇小说,将排湾族习惯借着歌谣表达的心意用身体诠释。

免费入场,无需登记,欢迎即场参与。

有关TAI身体剧场
TAI身体剧场于2012年由太鲁阁族原住民艺术家瓦旦‧督喜创立,成员多来自台湾各族群青年。 TAI,源于太鲁阁族语,意思是「看」、「瞧」,是艺术总监瓦旦对原住民传统文化的凝望与反思:「除了传统祭仪或观光化表演,原住民乐舞还有新的可能吗?」TAI身体剧场作品风格多元,触及原住民文学、身体与音乐、当代原住民处境与环境冲突等议题。作品《身吟‧男歌X女歌》受邀参与印尼日惹国际艺术节开幕演出,《久酒之香》受邀印度新德里国际艺术节演出,《桥下那个跳舞》入围2016台新艺术奖,与法国音乐家罗兰‧奥泽(Roland Auzet)共同创作的作品《寻‧山里的祖居所》更荣获2018年PULIMA艺术奖首奖。

有关多空间
多空间由舞蹈艺术家马才和与严明然于1995年3月在香港创办,致力发展成为兼具本土文化特色及国际视野的表演团体。其作品除在各大小舞台及剧院公开表演外,亦深入本港社区及学校,更多次于各类国际艺术节及艺术机构表演与交流,足迹遍及13个国家和超过20个城市。

合作伙伴:

TAI身体剧场  
多空間 香港藝術發展局