Nanyin (Cantonese naamyam) is a form of Cantonese narrative singing that was often heard around Hong Kong in the past. The singer accompanies him/herself or is accompanied by musicians playing instruments such as the guzheng (or zheng, a type of Chinese zither), paiban (wooden clappers), and yehu (a two-stringed instrument played with a bow).

In this talk, members of the arts group The Gong Strikes One illustrate with live demonstrations how the vocal and instrumental melodies of nanyin are created and developed based on the lyrics. 

Date:
26 February 2019 (Tuesday)

Time:
7:30pm – 9:00pm

Venue:
Seminar Hall, 2/F, Xiqu Centre

Speakers:
The Gong Strikes One

Language:
Cantonese

Fee:
Free admission. Limited capacity on a first come, first served basis. Please register online in advance.

REGISTER NOW

Enquiries:
Ms Chan (852) 2200 0812, learning@wkcda.hk

Accessibility Services:
Cantonese audio description and Hong Kong sign language interpretation are available upon request with at least 14 days’ advance notice. Wheelchair accessible seats and companion seats are available on a first come, first served basis. Please request with at least 2 days’ advance notice.

Adverse Weather Arrangements:
The talk will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is in force at 3:30pm and onwards.

About Speakers:

The Gong Strikes One (Chan Chi-kong, Lee King-chi)

The Gong Strikes One specialises in Chinese opera music and explores different performance settings of the genre, including concerts, theatre and narrative songs. In 2017, they presented their first theatrical work, I, Wu Song. They are currently collaborating with the Intangible Cultural Heritage Office in Hong Kong on a project called “Singing Nanyin as We Go”, touring the city and performing nanyin pieces specifically written for each district.

See more

Other West Kowloon 101 events

南音是一种广东说唱,上世纪初曾于粤港澳地区流行一时。南音的旋律由唱腔与乐器伴奏(行内称为「拍和」)组成。唱者依据曲词度腔,拍和者也依据唱腔来组织旋律,两者都须依从南音的音乐格式创作。不同的演出场合、伴奏乐器、曲词风格亦会形成不同的旋律风格。

「一才锣鼓」成员将分享审词度曲的过程,配合现场示范,让观众随着唱者及伴奏者的互动,一同投入南音的音乐世界。

日期:
2019年2月26日(星期二)

时间:
晚上7时30分至9时

地点:
戏曲中心二楼演讲厅

讲者:
一才锣鼓

语言:
粤语

费用:
费用全免,先到先得。请先作网上登记。

立即登记

查询:
陈小姐(852) 2200 0812, learning@wkcda.hk

通达服务:
提供即时粤语口述影像及香港手语传译服务,如有需要,请于活动前最少14天预约。场地设有轮椅使用者及陪同者座位,请于活动前最少2天预约,先到先得。

恶劣天气安排:
如八号或更高之热带气旋警告信号或黑色暴雨警告于下午3时30分起生效,是次讲座将会取消。

关于讲者:

一才锣鼓(陈志江、李劲持)

一才锣鼓成立于2012 年,旨在探索和发掘各种戏曲表演形式,包括音乐会、说唱、剧场等。 2017年制作戏曲独脚戏《俺,武松》,同年获非物质文化办事处邀请于三栋屋博物馆演出「细说新唱‧ 南音」。现正与非遗办合作举行「南音游记—行到边・唱到边」展演计划,以香港各区特色为题撰写新曲。

查看更多

西九101相关活动