For almost a century, Cantonese opera in Hong Kong has responded to the challenges of the modern times, employing different aesthetic and pragmatic tactics in order to survive and remain relevant.

In this talk, Prof Li Siu-leung looks at Cantonese opera in the social context of modern Hong Kong, from the 1920s and 1930s to the present, and examines how elements of western-modern music and culture have been adapted for use in the traditional performing art form. Referencing the larger context of xiqu modernisation in mainland China and Taiwan, he discusses the work of the Hong Kong Taiping Theater Troupe in the 1930s and 40s, the Hong Kong Experimental Cantonese Opera Troupe established in 1971, and the small-scale cross-genre experimentations of emerging performing artists today.

Date:
4 May 2019 (Saturday)

Time:
2:30pm–4:00pm

Venue:
Seminar Hall, 2/F, Xiqu Centre

Speaker:
Prof Li Siu-leung

Language:
Cantonese

Fee:
Free admission. Limited capacity on a first come, first served basis. Please register online in advance.

REGISTER NOW

Enquiries:
Ms Chan (852) 2200 0812, learning@wkcda.hk

Accessibility Services:
Cantonese audio description and Hong Kong sign language interpretation are available upon request with at least 14 days’ advance notice. Wheelchair accessible seats and companion seats are available on a first come, first served basis. Please request with at least 4 days’ advance notice.

Adverse Weather Arrangements:
The talk will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is in force at/after 10:30am on the day of the event.

About Speaker:

Prof Li Siu-leung

Currently Adjunct Professor of Cultural Studies at Lingnan University, Prof Li Siu-leung was previously Head of Lingnan’s Cultural Studies, Dean and Professor of the School of Chinese Opera at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Adjunct Professor in the Music Department at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He has also taught at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and published works on Chinese opera and gender, Hong Kong film and pop culture, as well as comparative literature. Prof Li has served on various government and professional committees, including the Cantonese Opera Development Fund Advisory Committee, the Cantonese Opera Advisory Committee, the Intangible Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee, the Ko Shan Theatre Cantonese Opera Education and Information Centre Work Group, the Chinese Traditional Performing Arts Panel of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, and Barwo’s Supervisory Committee for the Yau Ma Tei Theatre Venue Partnership Scheme.

See more

Other West Kowloon 101 events

本讲座将1920年至今的粤剧发展置于现代香港的社会脉络,探讨粤剧这种传统表演艺术,如何挪用各种现代的西方音乐和文化元素。

过去近一个世纪,中国戏曲多方尝试现代化;1970年代至今,台湾戏曲展现不少新实验。香港粤剧亦早已以各种方法来回应种种时代挑战,例如1930及40年代香港太平剧团的创新作品、1971年成立的香港实验粤剧团、现时青年演员和学生进行的各种跨形式艺术实验等,当中有成功亦有失败。讲座将讨论这些「追赶现代性」尝试对粤剧带来的影响。

日期
2019年5月4日(星期六)

时间
下午2时30分至4时

地点
戏曲中心二楼演讲厅

讲者:
李小良教授

语言:
粤语

收费:
费用全免,先到先得。请先作网上登记。

立即登记

查询
陈小姐(852) 2200 0812, learning@wkcda.hk

通达服务:
提供即时粤语口述影像及香港手语传译服务,如有需要,请于活动前最少14天预约。场地设有轮椅使用者及陪同者座位,请于活动前最少4天预约,先到先得。

恶劣天气安排
如八号或更高之热带气旋警告信号或黑色暴雨警告于上午10时30分起生效,是次讲座将会取消。

关于讲者:

李小良教授

岭南大学文化研究系兼任教授,曾任岭大文研系主任、香港演艺学院戏曲学院院长及教授、香港中文大学音乐系兼任教授。出版中、英文专书及论文,范畴包括性别易服、古典戏曲、昆剧、粤剧、香港电影及流行文化、比较文学等。历任香港特区政府及演艺专业团体各类咨询委员会成员,包括粤剧发展基金及粤剧发展咨询委员会、非物质文化遗产咨询委员会、康文署中国传统表演艺术小组、八和会馆油麻地戏院场地伙伴计划督导委员会等。

查看更多

西九101相关活动