Part One: Disrupted ViewsPart Two: Interrupted Legacies

Part One: Disrupted Views (11–21 March 2021)

Beijing SpringTalking About TreesWhat We Left Unfinished

Beijing Spring
Andy Cohen, Gaylen Ross (co-director)|102 min|2021|USA|English and Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles

EVENT HAS ENDED

In the late 1970s, a group of painters, sculptors, poets, photographers, and publishers in China took part in a movement for artistic freedom and social reform. Beijing Spring is a documentary that recounts the movement’s activities from the participants’ perspectives. It centres around the Stars Group, a collective including Ai Weiwei, Huang Rui, Li Shuang, Ma Desheng, and Wang Keping, who explored the possibilities of art beyond conventional modes of expression at the time. In an ad hoc, unsanctioned event organised by the group in September 1979, works were hung from fences near the China Arts Gallery (now the National Art Museum) in the country’s capital. Featuring photographer Chi Xiaoning’s never-before-seen excerpts, Beijing Spring documents the forced closure of the now landmark Stars Art Exhibition, the subsequent street demonstrations, and the relocation of the show, offering a close look at a groundbreaking moment in the development of contemporary Chinese art.

Andy Cohen (born 1965 in the USA) is an independent filmmaker, journalist, and the founder of AC Films. Seeking to affect social change, his works often deal with human rights issues. He is the executive producer of several documentaries, including Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry (2012), Hooligan Sparrow (2016), and Human Flow (2017). He is also a contributing editor at ArtAsiaPacific, where he wrote and directed a series of videos on Chinese contemporary artists.


Talking About Trees
Suhaib Gasmelbari|93 min|2019|France, Sudan, Germany, Chad, Qatar|Arabic with Chinese and English subtitles

EVENT HAS ENDED

A tender tribute to friendship, solidarity, determination, and shared histories, Talking About Trees is a luminous portrait of four brave men who, with wit and endless patience, tackle all manner of power outages, technical difficulties, and bureaucracy as they try to reopen an old derelict cinema in Khartoum. Memories of cinema-going and filmmaking in Sudan have been fading amidst several periods of sociopolitical turbulence, especially since the 1989 military coup, when cinemas were forced to shutter. That year also saw the establishment of the Sudanese Film Group, an independent collective founded by four filmmakers who had all studied abroad and had made critically acclaimed films independently in the 1970s and 1980s. Nearly three decades later, the elderly friends reunite in hopes of reviving a love for the country’s cinema culture.

Suhaib Gasmelbari (born 1979 in Sudan) studied cinema at the Université Paris 8 in France and has worked for Al Qarra, Al Jazeera, and France 24 as a cinematographer and editor. Director and writer of short narrative and documentary films, Gasmelbari is also a researcher of audiovisual archives and has participated in local and international projects to preserve and digitise Sudanese films that were previously thought lost. Talking About Trees is his first feature film.


What We Left Unfinished
Mariam Ghani|71 min|2019|USA, Afghanistan, Qatar|Dari and English with Chinese and English subtitles

EVENT HAS ENDED

As part of Mariam Ghani’s ongoing research, exhibition, and book project, What We Left Unfinished uncovers the stories behind five incomplete feature films produced in Afghanistan during communist rule from 1978 to 1991. Ghani presents extensive interviews with filmmakers, actors, and other participants who, despite challenging circumstances at the time, continued to pursue their cinematic visions. The interviewees share first-hand experiences of making these fictional films, which involved re-enactments by real military personnel using real bullets and tanks, instead of props. Pairing recently rediscovered or restored excerpts with present-day scenes shot in the same locations by some of the same filmmakers, Ghani traces the boundaries between storytelling and real life, crafting an intricate narrative about the shifting nature of filmmaking, history, and artistic vision.

Mariam Ghani (born 1978 in the USA) is a visual artist, writer, filmmaker, and teacher based in New York, whose research-based practice spans video, installation, photography, performance, and text. Her work has been exhibited in transmediale in Berlin, the Liverpool and Sharjah biennials, dOCUMENTA 13 in Kabul and Kassel, and Museum of Modern Art in New York. Ghani’s recent curatorial projects include the international symposium 'Radical Archives’; the video and performance series ‘Performed Places’; the experimental archive in collaboration with Chitra Ganesh, the ‘Index of the Disappeared’; and the Afghan Films online archive at Pad.ma. What We Left Unfinished is Ghani’s first feature film.


Part Two: Interrupted Legacies (6–16 May 2021)

About Some Meaningless EventsThe Endless FilmFilmfarsiGolden Slumbers

About Some Meaningless Events
Mostafa Derkaoui|76 min|1974|Morocco|Arabic with English subtitles

REGISTER

Filmed in the aftermath of Morocco’s political upheaval in the mid-1970s, About Some Meaningless Events is a docu-fiction set in a working-class neighbourhood of Casablanca. A group of filmmakers shoot a scene in a bar and conduct interviews in the streets, asking passers-by about their expectations of and hopes for Moroccan cinema. The plot takes an unexpected turn as the filmmakers witness a disgruntled dock worker killing his boss—an event that sparks a heated discussion on how the film should best frame the incident and, to a larger extent, the employment crisis in the country. Independently produced in 1974 by a group of painters, musicians, and poets, About Some Meaningless Events is a remarkable and energetic layering of fiction and gritty reality. At the time of its release, the film was immediately banned by government censors for its portrayal of the heightening sense of civil resistance and discontent. Considered lost for nearly four decades, it remained unseen until a negative print was rediscovered in Spain at the Filmoteca de Catalunya archives in 2016.

Mostafa Derkaoui (born 1944 in Morocco) is a director and screenwriter who was prolific in the 1980s and 1990s. He studied film at Institut des hautes études cinématographiques (now La Fémis) in Paris, then directing at the Łódź Film School in Poland, before returning to Morocco in the early 1970s. Soon after, he co-founded the production company Basma Productions with his brother, Abdelkrim. Derkaoui made several short films, among them Les Quatre Murs (1964) and Amghar (1968), before directing About Some Meaningless Events (1974), his first feature-length film.


The Endless Film
Leandro Listorti|54 min|2018|Argentina|Spanish with English subtitles

REGISTER

The Endless Film, a multi-layered work by Argentine filmmaker Leandro Listorti, inspires a living, parallel history of cinema from the 1950s to the present. Assembled in the archives of a film museum in Buenos Aires, this work recomposes fragments from unfinished Argentine films to explore how private, public, and collective memories and historiographies have been translated, preserved, and transformed through the cinematic medium. With its meandering sequences and use of evocative elements such as countdown leaders, film print artefacts, and audio outtakes, The Endless Film celebrates the materiality of filmmaking. It is a thoughtful invocation of the ghosts of Argentina's dictatorial past and its recurring histories of erasure.

Leandro Listorti (born 1976 in Argentina) is a filmmaker, producer, programmer, and projectionist. His films have been exhibited at international film festivals such as Edinburgh, Viennale, IDFA, Guadalajara, Rotterdam, and Mar del Plata, among others. He is a co-founder of Regional Amateur Film Archive (ARCA) and, in 2018, was the artist-in-residence at the Living Archive (Arsenal) in Berlin. Listorti has worked at a film museum in Buenos Aires since 2016.


Filmfarsi
Ehsan Khoshbakht|84 min|2019|Iran, United Kingdom|Farsi and English with Chinese and English subtitles

REGISTER

In the 1960s and 1970s, Iran was home to one of the most prolific film industries in the world, producing and releasing over a thousand films over two decades. Iranian pre-revolutionary popular cinema, known as filmfarsi, cast an image of a country seeking to modernise yet wrestling with its traditional ties and included everything from feminist adaptations of romantic melodramas to low-budget remakes of foreign films. In 1979, the revolution and the ensuing media ban upended this once-thriving industry. Composed of excerpts taken from the VHS tapes of his personal collection, Ehsan Khoshbakht’s essayistic documentary is a fascinating account of this vibrant form of cinema that, in his words, is filled with ‘song and dance, sex and seduction, violence and vengeance’. Offering a rare glimpse into the moving image works of this period, Filmfarsi contemplates the loss and rediscovery of these indelible markers of a nation in flux.

Ehsan Khoshbakht (born 1980 in Iran) is a film and jazz critic based in London, United Kingdom, whose work includes short documentaries on subjects ranging from Duke Ellington in the Middle East to Expressionist architecture and cinema. He is the co-director of Il Cinema Ritrovato Festival in Bologna, Italy, and the editor-in-chief of Underline, an online arts magazine published by the British Council. Filmfarsi is his first feature-length documentary.


Golden Slumbers
Davy Chou|100 min|2011|France, Cambodia|Khmer and French with Chinese and English subtitles

REGISTER

Golden Slumbers is a tender tribute to the once-flourishing Cambodian film industry, which vanished with the Khmer Rouge’s genocidal purge beginning in 1975. As the country became consumed by war, the industry collapsed, cinemas and films were destroyed, and industry leaders were imprisoned, killed, or exiled. Of the hundreds of films made between 1960 and 1975, only a few dozen have survived the regime and still exist today. Davy Chou, the grandson of one of the most important film producers of this golden age of Cambodian cinema, pieces together the generational memories of a lost period, revisiting some of the now-shuttered spaces and resurrecting their heyday through advertisements, soundtracks, and oral histories.

Davy Chou (born 1983 in France) is a filmmaker of documentaries, shorts, and feature-length films. Director of the award-winning short Cambodia 2099 (2014) and the narrative feature Diamond Island (2016), Chou often focuses on his Cambodian roots and seeks to nurture young Cambodian filmmakers. Along with filmmakers Steve Chen, Kavich Neang, and Park Sungho, he co-founded the Cambodian production company Anti-Archive. Golden Slumbers is Chou’s first feature-length film.

第一部分「搁置的观点」第二部份「中断的影像」

第一部分「搁置的观点」(2021年3月11日至21日)

北京之春谈论树木时未完待续

北京之春
岸堤・高恩、盖伦・罗丝(联合导演)|102分钟|2021|美国|英语及普通话对白,中英文字幕

已完结

1970年代末,一群中国画家、雕塑家、诗人、摄影师和出版人投身到争取艺术自由与社会改革的运动之中。纪录片《北京之春》从运动参与者的角度切入,回顾运动期间的多宗事件。影片以「星星画会」为中心,艾未未、黄锐、李爽、马德升和王克平都是画会成员,他们尝试突破当时艺术表达的传统规范,探索新的可能性。星星画会于1979年9月在首都北京策划了一场未经批准的临时画展,把作品挂在中国美术馆外的铁栏杆上。 《北京之春》记录这个如今被视为里程碑的「星星美展」当年如何被勒令停办、还有随后的街头游行,以及画展移师新地点续办,更收录了摄影师池小宁从未公开的作品片段,让观众可以细看这个当代中国艺术发展进程中开天辟地时刻。

岸堤・高恩(1965年生于美国)是独立电影制作人兼记者,创立了电影公司AC Films。作品多触及人权议题,以期借此引发社会变革,监制的纪录片包括《艾未未:道歉你妹》(2012)、《流氓燕》(2016)及《人流》(2017)。他亦是《亚太艺术》杂志的特约编辑,为其供稿并编导多部关于中国当代艺术家的录像。


谈论树木时
苏哈伊布・加斯梅巴利|93分钟|2019|法国、苏丹、德国、乍得、卡塔尔|阿拉伯语对白,中英文字幕

已完结

在苏丹喀土穆,四个永不言弃的老人为了重开荒废多年的残破戏院,以机智和无比耐心克服停电、技术落伍乃至官僚掣肘等重重难关。 《谈论树木时》细腻温厚地记下这段启迪人心的故事,向他们的友情、团结、决心和共同经历的往昔致敬。苏丹的社会政治动荡不断,到戏院看戏及拍摄电影的记忆在多段沧桑岁月中逐渐烟消云散,尤其自1989年的军事政变后,政府便下令取缔戏院。四人于同年成立了独立电影团体「苏丹电影小组」。他们全都是放洋归国的电影人,在1970及1980年代以独立制片方式拍出备受赞誉的作品。在约三十年后,这几位老朋友再度聚首,希望重燃大家对苏丹电影文化的爱火。

苏哈伊布・加斯梅巴利(1979年生于苏丹)于法国巴黎第八大学修读电影,曾为Al Qarra、半岛电视台及法兰西24小时电视台担任摄影及剪接。他亦编导过多部剧情及纪录短片,同时研究影音作品档案库,参与多个当地及国际计划,协助保存及数码化一度散佚的苏丹电影。 《谈论树木时》是他首部长片。


未完待续
玛丽安・加尼|71分钟|2019|美国、阿富汗、卡塔尔|达利语及英语对白,中英文字幕

已完结

《未完待续》是玛丽安.加尼持续进行的研究、展览及出版计划之一环,揭开1978至1991年共产政权统治阿富汗期间,五套未完成电影背后的故事。她深入采访一众当时不畏艰辛、坚持追求电影理想的导演、演员和其他参与电影制作的人士,他们诉说制作这些剧情片的亲身经验,包括舍弃道具,让真正的军人以真枪实弹和坦克来重演战争场面。加尼将近年重新发现或修复的电影片段,配对由同一导演掌镜、重回相同地点拍摄的一些画面,勾勒故事与现实之间的界线,编织出错综复杂的叙事结构,探讨电影制作、历史和艺术构想不断变化的本质。

玛丽安・加尼(1978年生于美国)是纽约视觉艺术家、作家、电影制作人兼教师,其作品以调查研究为基础,涵盖录像、装置、摄影、展演与文字。作品曾于柏林transmediale、沙迦双年展、利物浦双年展、第十三届文献展(喀布尔、卡塞尔),以及纽约现代艺术博物馆展出。最近的策展项目包括国际论坛「Radical Archives」、录像及展演系列「Performed Places」、与Chitra Ganesh合作的实验档案库「Index of the Disappeared」,以及阿富汗影片网上资料库Pad.ma。 《未完待续》为其首部剧情长片。


第二部份「中断的影像」(2021年5月6日至16日)

无关痛痒的事件拍不完的电影伊朗电影︰消失的一章金映岁月

无关痛痒的事件
穆斯塔法达卡尔|76分钟|1974|摩洛哥|阿拉伯语,英文字幕

登记

《无关痛痒的事件》是在1970年代中摩洛哥经历政局动荡后摄制,以纪录式剧情片的形式拍下卡萨布兰卡的工人社区。一群电影人在酒吧拍摄,又在街头访问途人对摩洛哥电影的期许。当剧组目击一个忿忿不满的码头工人杀害工头,故事发展便突然转向,他们开始争论该如何呈现这宗事件,以及国家整体的就业危机。本片于1974年由一群画家、音乐人和诗人独立制作,虚构故事和赤裸现实间的铺陈交叠迸发张力,撼动心弦。电影描画和强调公民的不忿和高涨的抗争意识,当年上映后旋即被政府禁映,散佚近四十年,直至2016年在西班牙加泰隆尼亚电影资料馆的档案中寻回负片拷贝,才告重见天日。

穆斯塔法达卡尔(1944年生于摩洛哥)是活跃于1980及1990年代的编剧及导演。他在巴黎高级电影研究学院(现称La Fémis)修读电影,后至波兰洛兹电影学院进修导演造诣。他于1970年代初回到摩洛哥,随后便与弟弟阿卜杜勒卡里姆创办电影制作公司Basma Productions。在完成首部长片《无关痛痒的事件》(1974)之前,他曾执导数部短片,包括《四面墙》(1964)及《Amghar》(1968)。


拍不完的电影
莱安德罗・利斯托蒂|54分钟|2018|阿根廷|西班牙语,英文字幕

登记

这部由阿根廷导演利斯托蒂执导的作品结构丰富复杂,把1950年至今的一段平行电影史娓娓道来。这段时期的阿根廷留下了不少未完成的电影,导演从布宜诺斯艾利斯一家电影博物馆的档案中寻得它们的残缺片段并加以重组,探索个人、大众和集体的回忆和历史学,如何透过电影媒介被翻译、保存和转化。其镜头组合漫无边际,运用了倒数片头、菲林上的痕迹,以及被剪掉的声音段落等引人遐思的元素。 《拍不完的电影》歌颂菲林电影制作的独特质感,拼凑出阿根廷独裁时期的记忆,令人想起那些一再被抹去的历史。

莱安德罗・利斯托蒂(1976年生于阿根廷)身兼导演、监制、节目策划和放映员。电影作品曾于爱丁堡、维也纳、阿姆斯特丹、瓜达拉哈拉、鹿特丹和马德普拉塔等多地的国际电影节中放映。他是地区业余电影资料馆(ARCA)的创办人之一,于2018年在兵工厂电影及录像艺术协会的档案馆Living Archive担任驻馆艺术家。自2016年起,他于布宜诺斯艾利斯的一家电影博物馆任职。


伊朗电影︰消失的一章
艾山・贺殊巴克|84分钟|2019|伊朗、英国|波斯语及英语对白,中英文字幕

登记

1960至1970年代,伊朗制作与上映了逾千部电影,产量在世界上名列前茅。伊朗革命前的通俗电影「filmfarsi」题材广泛,从以女性主义角度改编的通俗爱情片,到翻拍外国片的低成本电影,反映了这个国家既追求现代化,却又同时纠缠于传统价值。然而1979年伊斯兰革命及随之而来旳禁令,使兴盛一时的电影业戛然而止,几近荡然无存。贺殊巴克从私人珍藏的VHS录影带撷取片段,剪辑成这部随笔式纪录片,为这个导演形容为「载歌载舞,渗透色情与诱惑,充满暴力与复仇」的电影类型留下精彩纪录。从本片可以一窥早已于当时散失的流动影像作品,这些失而复得的影像是这个变动不居的国家不可磨灭的印记。

艾山・贺殊巴克(1980年生于伊朗)是驻居伦敦的影评人兼爵士乐评人,曾执导多部短篇纪录片,题材涵盖于中东巡演的爵士乐大师艾灵顿公爵,到表现主义建筑与电影。他是意大利博洛尼亚Il Cinema Ritrovato电影节的联席总监,亦为英国文化协会出版的网上艺术杂志《Underline》担任总编辑。 《伊朗电影︰消失的一章》为其首部纪录长片。


金映岁月
周戴维|100分钟|2011|法国、柬埔寨|高棉语及法语对白,中英文字幕

登记

柬埔寨电影曾经蓬勃鼎盛,却随赤柬政权于1975年展开大屠杀而零落殆尽,本片是献给那段辉煌历史的挽歌。当时国内战火频仍,电影业土崩瓦解,戏院及影片拷贝片瓦无存,许多电影人惨遭囚禁和杀害或流亡。于1960至1975年间制作的数百部电影中,只余几十出避过浩劫,存留至今。导演周戴维的外公是柬埔寨电影黄金时代的著名监制,他在此作品中拼合数代人的记忆,回顾遗落的往事,走访现已面目全非的地方,凭借旧广告、声带及口述历史重现他们的流金岁月。

周戴维(1983年生于法国)曾制作纪录片、短片及长片,导演作品包括得奖短片《柬埔寨2099》(2014)及剧情长片《钻石岛》(2016)。他关注自身的柬埔寨根源,努力扶持当地的年轻电影人,并与陈史文、宁卡维和朴成浩在柬埔寨合组制作公司Anti-Archive。 《金映岁月》是他的首部长片。