Date:                    
12–13 October 2017 (Thursday and Friday)

Time:                    
6:30pm–8:00pm (Thursday)
9:30am–5:00pm (Friday)

Venue:                
Piper Auditorium, Gund Hall, Harvard Graduate School of Design, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

This two-day session kicked off with a great turnout, featuring panel discussions and scholarly presentations that showcased new research on Pei’s manifold contributions to the built environment. Notable alumni from Pei’s office discussed the emergence of a new kind of architectural practice in the post-war era. Watch it online: http://www.gsd.harvard.edu/event/rethinking-pei-a-centenary-symposium/

Speakers: 
Daniel M. Abramson, André Bideau, Edward Eigen, Annette Fierro, Delin Lai, Stuart Leslie, Thomas Leslie, William Pedersen, Leslie Robertson, Cole Roskam, Brett Schneider, Shohei Shigematsu, Janet Adams Strong, Shirley Surya, Yvonne Szeto, Kellogg Wong

Moderators:
K. Michael Hays, Eric Höweler, Grace La, Seng Kuan

Organisers:         
M+ and Harvard Graduate School of Design

About Harvard Graduate School of Design
The Harvard University Graduate School of Design is dedicated to the education and development of design professionals in architecture, landscape, urban planning, and urban design. With a commitment to excellence that demands the skillful manipulation of form and technology and draws inspiration from a broad range of social, environmental, and cultural issues, the GSD is uniquely positioned to provide leadership for shaping the built environment of the 21st century. 

About the Participants
Daniel M. Abramson is Professor of Architectural History and Director of Architectural Studies at Boston University. Previously he taught at Tufts University. Abramson is the author of several books, most recently, Obsolescence: An Architectural History (University of Chicago Press, 2016). Current work includes projects on America as a welfare state as well as collating evidence and literature of architectural history.

André Bideau’s research targets intersections of architecture production, urbanisation, and urban governance. His work has focused on the socio-economic dynamics of postmodernism and Post-Fordism, having lectured and published extensively on German architect O.M. Ungers. His current research involves the early development of the La Défense office district in Paris. Bideau has taught at ENSA Paris-Malaquais and Harvard Graduate School of Design; currently he teaches at Accademia di Architettura in Mendrisio, Switzerland.

Annette Fierro is Associate Professor and Associate Chair of Architecture at University of Pennsylvania, where she teaches design, technology, and urbanism. She is also a registered architect and engineer by training. In 2003, she published The Glass State: The Technology of the Spectacle, Paris 1981-98 (MIT). Forthcoming is her book on avant-garde Britain in the 1960’s and its impact on British High-Tech architecture.

Edward Eigen is a historian and scholar whose work focuses on intersections of the human and natural sciences with the built environment in the long nineteenth century. A selection of his essays, On Accident: Episodes in Architecture and Landscape is forthcoming from the MIT Press. His current research examines the landscapes of the modern American presidency, including studies of the “grassy knoll” and Watergate.

K. Michael Hayis Eliot Noyes Professor of Architectural Theory at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, as well as Interim Chair for the Department of Architecture. Hays joined the Faculty of Design in 1988, teaching courses in architectural history and theory. Hays has played a central role in the development of the field of architectural theory and his work is internationally known. His research and scholarship have focused on the areas of European modernism and critical theory as well as on theoretical issues in contemporary architectural practice.

Eric Höweler is Associate Professor of Architecture at the Harvard GSD. He teaches in the core studio sequence and offers courses in other areas, including building assemblies. He is a principal of Höweler + Yoon Architecture LLP (HYA). HYA is a multidisciplinary practice working between architecture, art and media. Their projects include architecture, interactive environments, interiors, installations, furniture, concept clothing and artist books. Prior to forming HYA, Höweler was a Senior Designer at Diller + Scofidio where he worked on the Institute of Contemporary Art and the Juilliard School projects, and an Associate Principal at Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, where he was the senior designer on the 118 story ICC Tower in Hong Kong. He is LEED AP, and a registered architect in state of New York, Massachusetts, Virginia, New Jersey, Rhode Island and the District of Columbia.

Grace La (MArch '95) is Professor of Architecture, Chair of the Practice Platform, and Coordinator of the second-semester architecture core program at the Harvard GSD. She is also Principal of LA DALLMAN Architects, internationally recognized for the integration of architecture, engineering and landscape. Cofounded with James Dallman, LA DALLMAN is engaged in catalytic projects of diverse scale and type. Noted for works that expand the architect's agency in the civic recalibration of infrastructure, public space and challenging sites, LA DALLMAN was named as an Emerging Voice by the Architectural League of New York in 2010 and received the Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence Silver Medal in 2007. In 2011, LA DALLMAN was the first practice in the United States to receive the Rice Design Alliance Prize, an international award recognizing exceptionally gifted architects in the early phase of their career. LA DALLMAN has also been awarded numerous professional honors, including architecture and engineering awards, as well as prizes in international design competitions.

With PhD Degrees from Tsinghua University and University of Chicago in 1992 and 2007 respectively, Delin Lai is now Professor of Art History at University of Louisville. He specialises in modern Chinese cities, architecture, and their relationship with nationalism, modernism, and Western influence. He is Lead Editor of the five-volume book Zhongguo Jindai Jianzhushi (History of Modern Chinese Architecture) published in June 2016.

Stuart Leslie teaches the history of science and technology at The Johns Hopkins University.  His architectural writings include studies of Eero Saarinen’s corporate laboratories, the healthcare designs of Bertrand Goldberg and Eberhard Zeidler, laboratories by I.M. Pei and Louis Kahn, Edward Durell Stone’s Nuclear Taj Mahal for Pakistan, and the aerospace modernism of William Periera and A.C. Martin Jr. in Southern California. He recently served as Charles Lindbergh Chair at the National Air and Space Museum. 

Thomas Leslie, AIA, has taught at Iowa State University since 2000. He has degrees from University of Illinois and Columbia University. Leslie is the author of Louis I. Kahn: Building Art, Building ScienceChicago Skyscrapers, 18711934, and Beauty’s Rigor: Patterns of Production in the Work of Pier Luigi Nervi. In 2013–2014, Leslie was Historic Preservation Fellow at the American Academy in Rome. Prior to teaching he was an Associate with Foster and Partners, London.

Cole Roskam is Associate Professor of Architectural History in the Department of Architecture at University of Hong Kong. His research examines architecture's role in mediating moments of transnational exchange between China and other parts of the world. His scholarship has been published in AD, Artforum International, Grey Room, the Journal of Architectural Education, and the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, among others.

Janet Adams Strong is an architectural historian (PhD, Brown University). She was engaged to write for I.M. Pei & Partners in 1986, and continued at the firm (now Pei Cobb Freed & Partners) for twenty plus years as documentalist and Director of Communications. Dr Strong has independently authored, co-authored, and edited more than a dozen books on architecture, including I.M. Pei: Complete Works (2008).

Shirley Surya is Associate Curator, Design and Architecture, at M+, where she focuses on researching design and architecture production in greater China and Southeast Asia. She was co-curator of Building M+: The Museum & Architecture Collection and Mobile M+: NEONSIGNS.HK, and contributed to exhibitions including Incomplete Urbanism: Attempts of Critical Spatial Practice and Yung Ho Chang & FCJZ: Material-ism. She studied at University of California, Berkeley, and Royal College of Art in London.

William Pedersen joined Gene Kohn and Sheldon Fox in 1976 to found Kohn Pedersen Fox Architects. Previous to that he graduated from the University of Minnesota and MIT. In 1975 he was awarded the Rome Prize in Architecture by a jury headed by I. M. Pei. Returning from Rome in 1967, he worked at I. M. Pei and Partners for four years, three of which were on the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC. Since forming Kohn Pedersen Fox, seven of Pedersen's buildings have been awarded National Design Awards from the AIA. In 2013 the AIA of New York awarded him their Medal of Honor.

Li Chung (Sandi) Pei is the founding partner of Pei Partnership Architects, a firm he established with his brother, Chien Chung (Didi) Pei, after working at I. M. Pei & Partners from 1976 until 1992. Since then, he has directed the design of over five million square meters of building and large-scale urban development projects in the United States, Mexico, China, Indonesia, and Singapore. Some of his firm’s notable projects include the Chinese Embassy in Washington, DC, Suzhou Museum, Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center, and The Centurion luxury condominium building in New York City. The firm has designed projects for BMW, Bank of China, China Institute, Creative Artists Agency, Macao Foundation, Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group, and MIT, among others. He serves on Christie’s Advisory Board and is Vice President of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art. Sandi Pei graduated from the Harvard Graduate School of Design in 1976.

Leslie Robertson is an internationally acclaimed structural engineer, who has transformed urban and rural landscapes through innovative designs for over sixty years. Among his many notable designs are the twin towers of the World Trade Center (New York), US Steel Headquarters (Pittsburgh), Bank of China Tower (Hong Kong), Shanghai World Financial Center (China), Suzhou Museum (China), the Meyerson Symphony Center (Dallas), the Museum of Islamic Art, Qatar, and the Miho Museum, Bridge, and Chapel (Japan). A member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Distinguished Member of ASCE, Dr. Robertson has received numerous awards and honors, including the IStructE Gold Medal of the U. K., ASCE’s Outstanding Projects and Leaders (OPAL) Award, was Engineering News-Record’s ‘Man of the Year’, and the first recipient of the Henry C. Turner Prize. A Distinguished Alumnus of the University of California at Berkeley and recipient of doctoral degrees from Lehigh University, University of Notre Dame, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) , and the University of Western Ontario.

Brett Schneider was educated as both an Architect and an Engineer as a graduate student at Princeton University completing a Master’s in Engineering in 2000.  He is currently an Assistant Professor at the Rhode Island School of Design (Department of Architecture) and the Senior Associate at Guy Nordenson and Associates (structural engineers) in New York where he has worked since 1998.

Shohei Shigematsu is a Partner at OMA and the Director of the New York Office. Sho has completed a number of cultural projects including Milstein Hall for Cornell University, extension for the Quebec National Art Museum, Faena Forum in Miami Beach and the Costume Institute exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. He is currently designing an extension to the Albright Knox Art Gallery and a new campus for Facebook.

Yvonne Szeto (MArch '79) joined Pei Cobb Freed & Partners in 1977 and became a partner in 1999. Over four decades of service, she has played a central role in advancing the firm’s tradition of well-crafted public works, gaining national recognition as a designer of academic and cultural institutions while extending the firm’s global reach with major corporate projects in Europe, Asia and Australia. Her extensive and diverse portfolio of built work illustrates her commitment to creating buildings that engender meaning and identity, and serve their users.

Kellogg Wong, FAIA, RIBA, is Senior Principal at FORM New York, currently assisting Hurricane Sandy affected communities. Previously, Wong was Associate Partner Emeritus at Pei Cobb Freed & Partners for more than forty years, having taught at Rice University School of Architecture. He worked with I. M. Pei on the Everson Museum in Syracuse, Bank of China Tower in Hong Kong, Fragrant Hill Hotel in Beijing, and OCBC Raffles City Gate Way in Singapore. He also co-authored Vertical City: A solution for Sustainable Living.


Schedule

Day 1 (12 October 2017, Thursday)

6:30 pm

Introduction and Opening

6:45 pm

Roundtable

Emergence of a Modern Practice

Moderator: Grace La

William Pedersen

Li-Chung (Sandi) Pei

Shohei Shigematsu

Yvonne Szeto

 

Day 2 (13 October 2017, Friday)

9:30 pm

Panel 1

Technology

Moderator: Eric Höweler

 

Janet Adams Strong

Continuity and Change: Fine-faced Concrete in Physical Manifestation of I. M. Pei’s Approach to Architecture


Annette Fierro

Effective Depths: Transparent Domains


Brett Schneider

Early Tall Structures in Context


Leslie Robertson

Bank of China, Miho Museum and Bridge, and Other Projects 

12:30 pm

Panel 2

Spatial and Formal Practices I

Moderator: K. Michael Hays

 

Daniel M. Abramson

Vexing Government Center


Stuart Leslie

I. M. Pei's Modern Monastery: the NCAR Mesa Laboratory


Thomas Leslie

Brutal Grace: I. M. Pei’s Early Art Centers


Delin Lai

Defining the Present Perfect Tense of I. M. Pei’s Space 

3:00 pm

Panel 3

Power, Capital, and People

Moderator: Seng Kuan

 

Edward Eigen

I. M. Pei and the ‘Big Plan’: The Several Lives of the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum


André Bideau

Between the Superblock and the Pyramid: I. M. Pei and Araldo Cossutta at La Défense


Cole Roskam

The Fragrant Hill Hotel: Reassessing the Politics of Tradition and Abstraction in China’s Early Reform Era


Shirley Surya

Pei’s Office and Singapore’s Urban Core: Corporate Architecture, Symbolic Aestheticisation and Economic Pragmatism


Kellogg Wong

I. M. Pei & Partners, the Pei Team, and Singapore

日期:                                
2017年10月12至13日(星期四及五)

时间:                
晚上6时30分至8时(星期四)
上午9时30分至下午5时(星期五)

场地:                
美国麻省剑桥哈佛大学设计学院Gund Hall,Piper Auditorium

是次活动已于哈佛大学举行。连续两天的活动中,多个小组讨论和报告就贝聿铭对建成环境的影响及贡献发表了崭新的研究,亦邀得多位曾与贝聿铭共事的人谈及战后的创新建筑实践。立即重温研讨会:http://www.gsd.harvard.edu/event/rethinking-pei-a-centenary-symposium/

讲者:
Daniel M. Abramson、 André Bideau、 Edward Eigen、Annette Fierro、赖德霖、 Stuart Leslie、Thomas Leslie、William Pedersen、Leslie Robertson、罗坤、Brett Schneider、重松象平、Janet Adams Strong、王蕾、Yvonne Szeto,以及黄慧生

主持:
K. Michael Hays 、Eric Höweler、Grace La,以及关晟

主办:               
M+ 及哈佛大学设计学院


关于哈佛大学设计学院
哈佛大学设计学院致力培训建筑、园境设计、城市规划及城市设计的专业人员,积极推动各个领域的发展。学院善于巧妙运用建筑形式与科技,并时刻从广泛的社会、环境及文化议题汲取灵感,这一股追求卓越的动力,成就了学院的独特地位,同时对塑造二十一世纪的建成环境发挥深远影响。

参与者简介
Daniel M. Abramson是波士顿大学建筑史教授及建筑研究课程主任,曾任教于塔夫斯大学。他曾发表多本著作,近作为芝加哥大学出版社于2016年出版的《Obsolescence: An Architectural History》。现正研究美国作为福利国家的历史发展,以及整理建筑史相关资料及文献。

André Bideau的研究试图寻找建筑生产、都市化与都市治理之间的交集,尤其关注后现代主义和后福特主义的社会经济动态。他曾以德国建筑师OM Ungers为题,举行多次演讲及撰写多篇文章,目前则研究巴黎拉德芳斯商业区的早期发展。 Bideau曾任教于巴黎马拉盖国立高级建筑学院及哈佛大学设计学院,现于瑞士门德里西奥建筑学院授课。

Annette Fierro是宾夕凡尼亚大学建筑系副教授兼副系主任,教学领域涉及设计、科技与都市主义。她亦是注册建筑师和工程师,曾接受相关专业培训。麻省理工学院出版社在2003年为Fierro出版《The Glass State: The Technology of the Spectacle, Paris 1981-98》一书。现时她正筹备新书,主题围绕六十年代英国的前卫主义,以及其对当地高技派建筑的影响。

Edward Eigen是位历史学家和学者,专注研究十九世纪人类及自然科学与建成环境的相互关连。麻省理工学院出版社将为他出版论文集《On Accident: Episodes in Architecture and Landscape》。他现时的研究探讨与近代美国总统相关的地方的景观,这些地方包括达拉斯迪利广场「草丘」和华盛顿水门综合大厦。

K. Michael Hays现为哈佛大学设计学院Eliot Noyes基金建筑理论教授、学术事务副院长,以及建筑学系暂任主席。 1988年加入设计学院,教授建筑史论课程。其研究工作闻名国际,是建筑理论领域发展中的一个关键人物。他的研究和学术成就主要围绕欧洲现代主义和批判理论,以及当代建筑实践的理论问题。

Eric Höweler
是哈佛大学设计研究院的建筑副教授,除了教授核心实务课程,还负责其他领域如建筑组件的课程。他的另一身份是Höweler + Yoon Architecture LLP(HYA)工作室的总监。 HYA涉足建筑、艺术和媒体多个领域,项目范畴包括建筑、互动环境、室内设计、家俬设计、概念时装和艺术家书。 Höweler在成立HYA之前是Diller + Scofidio的高级设计师,曾参与设计伦敦当代艺术学院及纽约茱莉亚学校;他亦曾是Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates的副总监,在任期间担任楼高118层的香港环球贸易广场的高级设计师。美国绿建筑协会会员,以及纽约州、麻萨诸塞州、维吉尼亚州、新泽西州、罗德岛州和哥伦比亚特区的注册建筑师。

Grace La于1995年哈佛大学设计学院取得建筑硕士学位,现于哈佛大学设计研究院任职建筑教授、实践平台主席及第二学期核心建筑课程的课程统筹。她亦是LA DALLMAN建筑事务所的负责人,因整合建筑、工程和景观实践而闻名国际。 LA DALLMAN由Grace La和James Dallman创办,涉足不同规模和类型的促进项目。 LA DALLMAN因作品加强了建筑师在基础设施、公共空间和具挑战性场域的公民重新定位上的主体性而备受注目,2007年获「露迪.布鲁纳优质都市环境奖」(Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence)银奖,2010年被纽约建筑联盟誉为「新晋之声」(Emerging Voice)。 LA DALLMAN是美国首个获得「莱斯设计联盟奖」(Rice Design Alliance Prize)的事务所,此国际奖项特别表扬早期职业生涯表现优秀的建筑师。 LA DALLMAN屡获专业奖项,包括建筑奖、工程奖及国际设计比赛奖。

赖德霖分别于1992及2007年获清华大学及芝加哥大学博士学位,现为路易斯维尔大学艺术史教授,专门探讨现代中国城市、建筑,以及它们与民族主义、现代主义和西方影响的关系。赖德霖是《中国近代建筑史》(全五卷)的主编,该系列在2016年6月出版。

Stuart Leslie在约翰·霍普金斯大学教授科技史,他喜以建筑为题撰文,研究题材包括Eero Saarinen设计的企业实验室,Bertrand Goldberg与Eberhard Zeidler的医疗建筑设计,贝聿铭与Louis Kahn设计的实验室,由Edward Durell Stone设计、被戏称为「泰姬陵式核工厂」的巴基斯坦核科技研究所,以及William Periera与AC Martin Jr.在南加州推动的太空式现代主义。 Leslie最近获选参加美国国家航空及太空博物馆的Charles Lindbergh资助计划。

Thomas Leslie(美国建筑师学会会员)毕业于伊利诺大学及哥伦比亚大学,自2000年起在爱荷华州立大学任教。着有《Louis I. Kahn: Building Art, Building Science》、《Chicago Skyscrapers, 1871–1934》及《Beauty's Rigor: Patterns of Production in the Work of Pier Luigi Nervi》。 2013至2014年间于罗马美国文理科学院担任历史保育研究员。在展开教学生涯之前,Leslie曾任伦敦福斯特联合建筑师事务所的项目建筑师。

William Pedersen 与Gene Kohn、Sheldon Fox于1976年创办 Kohn Pedersen Fox 建筑事务所。此前,他毕业于美国明尼苏达大学及麻省理工学院,并曾于1975年获罗马美国学院颁发建筑奖,而贝聿铭更是该奖的评审主席。 1967年自罗马返美后,于贝聿铭建筑事务所工作了四年,其中三年专注于华盛顿国家艺廊。自他的建筑事务所成立以来,已有七座建筑获美国建筑师学会颁发国家设计奖,而美国建筑师学会纽约分会更于2013年为他颁授荣誉勋章。

贝礼中于1976年自哈佛大学设计学院毕业。 1976至1992年间于贝聿铭建筑事务所工作,其后与弟弟贝建中创办贝氏建筑事务所。他主导的设计项目遍及美国、墨西哥、中国、印尼以及新加坡等地,包括超过五百万平方米的建筑设计及大型城市建设。贝氏建筑事务所知名的项目有中国驻华盛顿大使馆、苏州博物馆、加州大学洛杉矶分校医疗中心,以及纽约Centurion高级住宅。事务所亦曾与宝马汽车、中国银行、华美协进社、创新艺人经纪公司、澳门基金会、文华东方酒店集团、麻省理工学院等合作。现为佳士得咨询委员会成员,也是美国现代艺术博物馆国际委员会副主席。

Leslie Robertson为国际知名结构工程师,六十年来以创新设计改变城乡景观。为人熟知的设计包括纽约世界贸易中心双塔、匹兹堡美国钢铁公司总部、香港中银大厦、上海环球金融中心、苏州博物馆、达拉斯麦耶生交响乐中心、多哈伊斯兰艺术博物馆,以及日本美秀美术馆、吊桥及教堂。他是美国国家工程院院士,亦为美国土木工程师学会荣誉会员,曾获多个奖项,如英国结构工程师学会金奖、美国土木工程师学会杰出项目及领导奖等,亦获美国《工程新闻纪录》选为「年度人物」,更是Henry C. Turner Prize 的首位得奖者。 Robertson获加州大学柏克莱分校选为杰出校友,并获美国的理海大学、圣母大学、壬色列理工学院,以及加拿大西安大略大学颁授荣誉博士学位。

罗坤是香港大学建筑学系副教授,研究领域为建筑史,专门研究建筑在中外跨国互动与交流中发挥的作用。他的学术研究著作多见于《AD》、《艺术论坛》、《Grey Room》、《建筑教育》及《Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians》等。

Brett Schneider在普林斯顿大学攻读建筑学和工程学,于2000年完成工程学硕士课程。自1998年起于纽约结构工程事务所Guy Nordenson and Associates任职,现为资深项目建筑师,同时亦是罗德岛设计学院建筑学系助理教授。

Janet Adams Strong是建筑史学家,获布朗大学博士学位。 1986年获贝聿铭建筑事务所聘任为撰写人,其后二十多年一直在事务所(现名为贝考弗及合伙人事务所)担任文献专员及传媒部主管。 Strong博士撰写、与人合着和编辑了十余本关于建筑的书籍,包括2008年出版的《贝聿铭全集》。

王蕾是M+设计及建筑副策展人,专注研究大中华及东南亚的设计及建筑生产,她曾担任「构。建M+:博物馆设计方案及建筑藏品」及「M+进行:探索霓虹」的联合策展人,也参与策划「不完整的都会生活:空间试探」及「张永和+非常建筑:唯物主义」等多个展览。王蕾先后就读于加州大学柏克莱分校及伦敦皇家艺术学院。

重松象平为大都会建筑事务所合伙人,并是其纽约办公室总监。他曾设计美国康乃尔大学Milstein Hall、魁北克国立美术馆的扩建计划、迈阿密Faena Forum、大都会艺术博物馆服装部展览等文化项目。现正设计奥尔布赖特诺克斯美术馆扩建计划及Facebook公司的新园区。

Yvonne Szeto于1979年哈佛大学设计学院取得建筑硕士学位,1977年加入贝考弗及合伙人事务所,并在1999年成为合伙人。四十多年来,她致力发扬事务所精心设计公共项目的传统,并因其设计的学术及文化机构建筑在美国享负盛名,同时承接欧洲、亚洲及澳洲的大型企业项目,将事务所的业务拓展至全球。她丰富的作品履历反映了她对建筑设计的主张:有意义与个性,并能服务用家

黄慧生(美国建筑师学会会士及英国皇家建筑师学会会员)是纽约FORM事务所的高级总监,现正参与援助受飓风桑迪影响的社区。黄慧生早年在莱斯大学建筑学院任教,曾任贝考弗及合伙人事务所准合伙人,与贝聿铭共事逾四十载,二人合作过的建筑项目包括纽约雪城艾佛森美术馆、香港中银大厦、北京香山饭店以及新加坡华侨银行中心。黄慧生曾与人合着《垂直城市: 可持续生活之道》。


流程

第一天(2017年10月12日,星期四)

晚上6时30分

研讨会开幕与介绍

晚上6时45分

圆桌讨论

一种现代建筑实践的兴起

主持:Grace La

William Pedersen

贝礼中

重松象平

Yvonne Szeto

 

第二天(2017年10月13日,星期五)

上午9时30分

主题(一)

科技

主持:Eric Höweler

 

Janet Adams Strong

持续与变:现贝聿铭建筑思维清水混凝土


Annette Fierro

有效深度:透明领域


Brett Schneider

从具体背景看早期高层结构


Leslie Robertson

中银大厦、美秀美术馆与吊桥,以及其他项目 

下午12时30分

主题(二)

空间及形式实践 I

主持:K. Michael Hays

 

 

Daniel M. Abramson

令人困惑的政府中心


Stuart Leslie

贝聿铭的现代修道院:美国国家大气研究中心


Thomas Leslie

粗野风韵:贝聿铭早期的艺文中心


赖德霖

定义贝聿铭空间的现在完成式 

下午3时

主题(三)

权力、资本与人民

主持:关晟

 

Edward Eigen

贝聿铭与「大计」:甘迺迪总统图书馆暨博物馆的历代设计


André Bideau

超级街区与金字塔之间:贝聿铭与Araldo Cossutta在巴黎拉德芳斯


罗坤

香山饭店:重探中国改革初期传统与抽象的政治


王蕾

贝聿铭建筑事务所与新加坡城市核心:企业建筑、象征式美学化,以及经济实用主义


黄慧生

贝聿铭建筑事务所、贝氏团队,以及新加坡